Skip to Content

Three economics scholarships awarded

Rachel Grant, Tyler Quatraro and Robert Pitre selected for Grace Miller and H.T. Koplin Scholarships

Three exemplary students were awarded scholarships by the Economics Department this month.

Rachel Grant and Tyler Quatraro were awarded the Grace Miller Economics Scholarship of $2,500 over three terms, beginning in Winter 2015, and Robert Pitre received the first-ever H.T. Koplin Memorial Scholarship for Economics of $3,000 for the academic year 2014-2015.

Keep watching the Economics website for more information about future awards of the Koplin and Grace Miller Scholarships for the 2015-2016 academic year.

RachelGrant_300x400Rachel Grant is a junior in the Clark Honors College, double-majoring in Economics and Japanese. She currently works for the residence halls as second-year Housing Service Center Specialist. Outside of school, she is an active member of her sorority, the Women in Business club, as well as a volunteer for the Lane County Juvenile Justice Center as a math tutor. This spring term, she will be interning in Tokyo, Japan, for the Japanese Representative Office of Oregon.




TylerQuartraro300x400Tyler Quatraro is a sophomore at the University of Oregon planning to graduate with a double major in Business and Economics. He hopes to travel and teach English abroad for a few years after he graduates and then go to graduate school for economics or law. “Being awarded this scholarship is a huge honor and I can’t emphasize how grateful I am for the support it provides and symbolizes.”




Robert Pitre300x400Robert Pitre is a senior at the University of Oregon, and is originally from the Mississippi Gulf Coast. He explored a few different career paths before deciding to move to Oregon and pursue a bachelor’s degree. This spring he will be graduating with a Bachelors of Science in Economics with a minor in Political Science and will be marrying his fiancée, Kelly. He plans to take a year off before applying to graduate school in pursuit of a Masters in Public Administration.



About the Scholarships

The Department of Economics awards these scholarships to students majoring in economics who are Oregon residents. The Grace Miller Scholarship was created in honor of donor Grace Miller, who earned her MA in Business Administration at the UO and went on to teach business and economics at South Eugene High School. This scholarship is offered to encourage and support an academically strong UO undergraduate economics major who is an Oregon resident and who has demonstrated an interest in teaching. Preference is given to women, and the scholarship is awarded on a quarterly basis depending on available funds.

The H.T. Koplin Memorial Scholarship is a new scholarship for the UO Department of Economics, and is awarded to an economics major demonstrating a combination of financial need and high academic performance in economics courses. The Koplin Memorial Scholarship is awarded once per year.

The Department of Economics would like to thank our generous donors for providing these opportunities for our outstanding students to pursue their goals for a college education.